top of page

SOLabs' PurTect

PurTect Ointment

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This review is for: SOLabs' PurTect

This is what we th.ink.

This was acquired directly from SOLabs. I believe you can only buy cases from them directly, but many other online supply shops sell them. Buying a case can be more expensive at once, but in the long run is much cheaper. This will help especially if you're a very busy artist. You can also sell it, or offer it to your clients as aftercare.

This is a great ointment. It isn't oily, it is antimicrobial, contained vitamins A and E, and it softens, and purifies the skin. Remember products like this are for external use only. Be sure not to eat any of it! One of the main things I love about this product is how little you really need. Compared to some other products you use about half of what you would normally use. I put some on my tray for the tattoo process, and just grab enough from the edge of what I had placed to lubricate the area. It spreads very easily, makes a nice barrier for excess ink pooling, and makes wiping said ink away very easy. This creates a clear, and clean work area on the skin.

This product is also made to cooperate with the other products in what I call the "PurLine." These include PurKlenz, PurSan, PurTect, and PurRinse. This way it takes away any worry of a chemical reaction between products during, and after the tattoo process. For every tattoo I perform I use PurTect during the tattoo, and suggest that my clients use it for aftercare. I also use PurKlenz instead of green soap, and recommend PurSan as an aftercare soap for their tattoos. This way I know what products are going to be used on my tattoos, and it gives me a more consistant basis on the healing process. Some people use Green Soap in their wash bottle, A&D Ointment (or some other petroleum substitute) during the tattoo, then their client goes home and uses their aftercare of choice, and some soap you probably don't even know they're using. The biggest issue with this is it can cause chemical reactions that the client doesn't know may happen. It may not happen often, but I have seen it before I had started using the PurLine. These products are also made with sensitive skin in mind. They do not cause any kind of irritation to sensitive skin types. PurTect comes in both 118mL, and 20mL bottles.

The proper usage of this product is as follows: Thoroughly clean hands, and affected area with PurSan(or soap of choice, PurSan recommended), pat try with a clean paper towel, apply PurTect to area, blot with paper towel to remove any excess. Reapply thoughout the day according to your artist's instructions. After you use this product for a time you'll learn the proper amount needed for your tattoo, and won't need to blot out any excess. However, due to the small amount you do need for your tattoo you may end up with a bit of excess at first.

The ingredients for this product are: Petrolatum, Paraffinum Liquidum, Paraffin, Propulene Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Squalane, Chloroxylenol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract. Be sure to reseal the tube after use, and avoid freezing. Store at room tempurature, and the product is non-toxic!

As a Canadian myself I try to test out products that are from Canada, and I tend to lean more towards suppliers that are in Canada. This can save me a lot of time on shipping, shipping costs, and also helps out my fellow Canadians. That being said SOLabs (Science Options Laboratores) is a Canadian company that has a fierce love for the industry. I have spoken to people from this company, and I can attest to their customer service. Everyone I have spoken to has been very kind, and polite, and has gone the extra mile to make sure that I have all the information I need for their product, and that I am happy with my experience.

PurTect is available at www.solabs.ca, www.purklenz.com, www.eikondevice.com, www.tattoomachienequipment.com, and Bowers Medical Supply. Be sure to check them out, and give this product a try. You wont regret it.

We give this ointment 5 out of 5 stars. There are very many reasons for this. It lasts quite a while, softens and purifies the skin, is antimicrobial, you use very little during the process and for after care, and it works very well with sensitive skin. I have been using this product for years, and I have yet to find a product that can rival it for me. I definitely recommend it to others to try out.

 what we th.ink
 

 

Here at th.ink we aim to provide thorough and unbiased reviews of various tattoo related items. These items may vary from aftercare items, pencils, machines, to furniture. We noticed there weren't many sites dedicated to this, and those that were did not get updated often enough to suit what we deem as a valuable resource for unbiased information.

"This is what we th.ink."

think tattoo reviews th.ink
 archive: 
 th.ink with us: 
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
 RECENT POSTS: 

Copyright © 2015 · th.ink · All Rights Reserved

Graphic Design, and creative works by Shawn Fobert and Nicholas Crites-Prieur · Contact

bottom of page